David R. Cheriton Graduate Scholarships in Computer Science

Awarded By: University of Waterloo
Updated on Dec 22, 2023
University Research Analyst
Course: Masters
Deadline: Dec 22, 2023
Amount: CAD 10,000 - CAD 20,000
+238 more

Scholarship Overview

Dr. David Ross Cheriton is a distinguished Computer Science alumnus of the University of Waterloo Faculty of Mathematics. Dr. Cheriton received his MMath and PhD in Computer Science from Waterloo in 1974 and 1978, respectively. He is a Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at Stanford University and is widely known for his extraordinary research contributions in high-performance scalable distributed systems, Internet architecture and hardware-software interaction; and the successful commercialization of his research results.

Applicable course, university, and country

This scholarship is applicable for the Master of Mathematics- Computer Science courss in University of Waterloo in Canada.

Scholarship amount details

Max scholarship per student: CAD 20,000 => Rs 12,03,600
Conversion rate used: 1 CAD = Rs. 60.08 (last updated 30th October 2023)
Scholarship amount will be given: Yearly.

Scholarship amount can be used for:

Type of Expense Indicates if the scholarship can be used for this type of expense
Application × Not covered in scholarship
Tuition & Fees Scholarship amount can be used for this
Living Expense × Not covered in scholarship
Accommodation × Not covered in scholarship
Air Fare/Travel Expenses × Not covered in scholarship
Spouse/Child Care × Not covered in scholarship
Health Cover × Not covered in scholarship
Others × Not covered in scholarship

Eligible student nationality

India, United States of America, United Kingdom, Australia, Singapore, New Zealand, Canada, Germany, Malaysia, Sweden, France, Switzerland, Netherlands, Denmark, Spain, Russia, United Arab Emirates,Ireland,Italy, Poland, Portugal, Norway, Japan, Thailand, Belgium, Armenia, Fiji, China, South Korea, Greece, Mauritius, Estonia, Luxembourg, Ukraine, South Africa, Hungary, Austria, Slovenia, Philippines, Cyprus, Bangladesh, Lithuania, Monaco, Nepal, Georgia, Hong Kong, Turkey, Malta, Bahrain, Barbados, Guyana, Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, BritishIndian Ocean Territory, British VirginIslands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, CaymanIslands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, ChristmasIsland, CocosIslands, Colombia, Comoros, CookIslands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curacao, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, FalklandIslands, FaroeIslands, Finland, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greenland, Grenada, Guam, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras,Iceland,Indonesia,Iran,Iraq,Isle of Man,Israel,Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Macao, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, MarshallIslands, Mauritania, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, North Korea, Northern MarianaIslands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Pitcairn, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Reunion, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, SolomonIslands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turks and CaicosIslands, Tuvalu, U.S. VirginIslands, Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Appication Process for this scholarship

  • Candidate must show interest for research by publications and letters of reference
  • Application Process: Candidate will be selected automatically by the Faculty/ Department

Application Link:
Additional Information:
Students will be auto-considered for this scholarship when they apply for the courses on which this scholarship is applicable. No separate application is needed.
Application Documents:

  • Research summary (approx. 1 – 2 pages)
  • CV
  • 2 reference letters (one of which is your supervisor)
  • transcript

Important Dates & FAQ info:

Info Date
Scholarship Deadline Not available
Scholarship Decision date Not available
FAQ Link: Not available
Contact email: Not available

Scholarship Eligibility

  • Applicant must be a full-time University of Waterloo graduate students in the David R Cheriton School of Computer Science
  • An applicant is selected on the basis of scholastic excellence, evidence of research potential, as indicated by publications, letters of reference, and a demonstrated interest in research that addresses problems associated with designing and implementing efficient and reliable computing systems, along with their effective integration

No specific eligibility requirement mentioned on the Scholarship site, student profile will be evaluated on a case by case basis.
Scholarship Restriction:
No Special Restriction applicable
Exams Details:

Exam name Indicates if exam is required and cutoff (if any)
12th Required
UG Required

Additional Information:
No specific deadline available

iSchoolConnect Rating

The rating is done considering various factors

Frequently Asked Questions

The frequently asked questions about the scholarship are:

Who can apply for the Scholarship?
The scholarship is applicable to students from all countries.

What is the minimum Qualification Required?
The students must have completed their bachelor’s or equivalent degree from a recognized institution.

What is the procedure for applying?
Students need to apply for the scholarship separately at https://cs.uwaterloo.ca/current-graduate-students/funding-and-awards/david-r-cheriton-graduate-scholarship#:~:text=his%20research%20results.-,David%20R.,students%20holding%20a%20student%20visa.

What are the documents required for filling the forms?
Official transcripts, Research summary, Letter of Recommendation

What is the duration of the Scholarship?
One Time