Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS)- Western University: Master of Media in Journalism & Communication Ongoing

Awarded By: Western University in Canada
Updated on Mar 22, 2024
Rekha Madi
Rekha Madi
University Research Analyst
Course: Masters
Deadline: Feb 1, 2024
Amount: CAD 15,000

Scholarship Overview

Western University offers the Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS). This one time scholarship offered by the International Students Office of Western University awards scholarships to degree-seeking students who have specified financial needs. Note that a large portion of the scholarship funds come from International student tuition. Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS) is applicable for Masters Degree. The award is applicable for the courses like Master of Media in Journalism & Communication. If we consider the amount of the Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS), then it varies each semester. The applicants should review the scholarship application in order to fully understand the availability and amount for that particular semester. Bachelor degree is required for applicants to be eligible for this scholarship. The following documentation is required from students in order to apply for the scholarship: LOR.

Applicable course, university, and country

  • Master of Media in Journalism & Communication
  • Applicable for all Master Degree programs


Scholarship amount details

$15,000 for one year (three consecutive terms).
Conversion rate used: 1 CAD = Rs. 61.33 (last updated 7th December 2023).
Scholarship amount will be given: One Time

Scholarship amount can be used for:

Type of Expense Indicates if the scholarship can be used for this type of expense
Tuition & Fees ✔ Scholarship amount can be used for this
Living Expense × Not covered in scholarship
Accommodation × Not covered in scholarship
Air Fare/Travel Expenses × Not covered in scholarship
Spouse/Child Care × Not covered in scholarship
Health Cover × Not covered in scholarship
Application × Not covered in scholarship
Others × Not covered in scholarship

Number of students to be awarded:

Eligible student nationality

India, United States Of America, United Kingdom, Australia, Singapore, New Zealand, Germany, Malaysia, Sweden, France, Switzerland, Netherlands, Denmark, Spain, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Norway, Japan, Thailand, Belgium, Armenia, Fiji, China, South Korea, Greece, Mauritius, Estonia, Luxembourg, Ukraine, South Africa, Hungary, Austria, Slovenia, Philippines, Cyprus, Bangladesh, Lithuania, Monaco, Nepal, Georgia, Hong Kong, Turkey, Malta, Bahrain, Barbados, Guyana, Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curacao, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Finland, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greenland, Grenada, Guam, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Isle of Man, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Macao, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Pitcairn, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Reunion, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, U.S. Virgin Islands, Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Appication Process for this scholarship

  • Unofficial transcripts from all post-secondary institutions
  • LOR: Applicant has to identify two professors who will each complete and upload an academic recommendation in support of his/her OGS application
  • Academic History – a summary of the applicant’s previous academic history, accomplishments, and awards
  • Research proposal: If required
  • Application Process: Applicant has to apply through the online application portal
  • Western’s Online OGS Application opens

Scholarship Application:
This scholarship needs a separate external application.

Application Documents:

Type of Document Indicates if Document is Required
LOR Required
CV Required
Transcripts Required

Important Dates & FAQ info:

Info Date
Scholarship application open Not Available
Scholarship Deadline Not Available
Scholarship Decision date Not Available
Interview Date Not Available
FAQ Link Not Available
Contact email Not Available
Contact number 519-661-2102


Scholarship Eligibility

  • The applicant seeking Master’s support for a 3-term or 4-term Master’s program will not have completed any time in the program as of January 1
  • Applicant must have achieved a minimum of 80% in each of the last two completed years of full-time study, or equivalent to full-time study
  • Eligibility averages for competitive scholarship are rounded ONLY to the nearest decimal place
  • Also, an OGS applicant:
    • Must not have exceeded the lifetime maximum of two (2) OGS awards held at the master’s level, nor exceeded the lifetime maximum of four (4) OGS/QEII-GSST awards held at the doctoral level
    • Must not have exceeded the lifetime maximum of six (6) years of government-funded student award support from the following programs/agencies:
      • Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS)
      • Ontario Trillium Scholarships (OTS)
      • Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship in Science and Technology (QEII-GSST)
      • Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
      • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
      • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC)

Special Restrictions:
No Special Restriction applicable

Exams Details:

Exam Name Indicates Exam If Any
UG Required


iSchoolConnect Rating

The rating is done considering various factors

Frequently Asked Questions

The frequently asked questions about the scholarship are:

Who can apply for the Scholarship?
The scholarship is applicable to students from various countries.

What is the minimum Qualification Required?
To qualify for the award, candidates must have completed the 12th grade.

What is the procedure for applying?
This scholarship needs a separate external application.

What are the documents required for filling the forms?
LOR, SOP, Transcripts

What is the duration of the Scholarship?
One Time