Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS)- Western University: PG Engineering, Science and Computer Science programs

Awarded By: Western University in Canada
Updated on Mar 7, 2024
Rekha Madi
Rekha Madi
University Research Analyst
Course: Masters
Deadline: Feb 1, 2022
Amount: CAD 15,000

Scholarship Overview

Since 1975, the Ontario government, in partnership with Ontario’s publicly assisted universities, has encouraged excellence in graduate studies at the master’s and doctoral levels through the awarding of Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS).
OGS awards are merit-based scholarships available to students in all disciplines of graduate study.

Applicable course, university, and country

  • Master of Engineering in Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Master of Engineering in Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Master of Engineering in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering
  • Master of Engineering in Software Engineering
  • Master of Engineering in Mechanical and Materials Engineering
  • Applicable for all Master Degree programs

Scholarship amount details

15,000 CAD for one year (3 consecutive terms).
At Western University the annual value of an award is divided into three equal installments and each is pre-paid to the award holder’s Student Center account at the start of every term (September, January and May).
Conversion rate used: 1 CAD = Rs. 61.33 (last updated 7th December 2023).
Scholarship amount will be given: One Time
Scholarship amount can be used for:

Type of Expense Indicates if the scholarship can be used for this type of expense
Tuition & Fees ✔ Scholarship amount can be used for this
Living Expense × Not covered in scholarship
Accommodation × Not covered in scholarship
Air Fare/Travel Expenses × Not covered in scholarship
Spouse/Child Care × Not covered in scholarship
Health Cover × Not covered in scholarship
Application × Not covered in scholarship
Others × Not covered in scholarship

Number of students to be awarded:

Eligible student nationality

India, United States of America, United Kingdom, Australia, Singapore, New Zealand, Canada, Germany, Malaysia, Sweden, France, Switzerland, Netherlands, Denmark, Spain, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Norway, Japan, Thailand, Belgium, Armenia, Fiji, China, South Korea, Greece, Mauritius, Estonia, Luxembourg, Ukraine, South Africa, Hungary, Austria, Slovenia, Philippines, Cyprus, Bangladesh, Lithuania, Monaco, Nepal, Georgia, Hong Kong, Turkey, Malta, Bahrain, Barbados, Guyana, Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curacao, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Finland, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greenland, Grenada, Guam, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Isle of Man, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Macao, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Pitcairn, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Reunion, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, U.S. Virgin Islands, Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Appication Process for this scholarship

  • Unofficial transcripts from all post-secondary institutions
  • LOR: The applicant is required to identify two academic referees that will complete an academic assessment in support of the application
  • Academic History – a summary of applicants previous academic history, accomplishments and awards
  • Research proposal: If required
  • Application Process: Applicant has to apply through the online application portal
  • Announcement of OGS/QEII-GSS results

Scholarship Application:
This scholarship needs a separate external application.

Application Documents:

Type of documents Indicates if this type of document is required to be submitted
LOR Required
Transcripts Required

Important Dates & FAQ info:

Info Date
Scholarship Application Open: December 10, 2021
Scholarship Deadline: February 01, 2022
Scholarship Announcement: April 29, 2022

Scholarship Eligibility

  • The applicant seeking Master’s support for a 2-year (6 terms) Master’s program must be in term 3 or less as of January 1
  • Applicant must have achieved a minimum of 80% in either their graduate program admission average and/or their cumulative Western graduate average
  • An applicant must:
  • Be a current graduate student, or have submitted an application for admission to a Western graduate program
  • If an OGS/QEII-GSST applicant is international student holding a valid Study Permit as of the OGS/QEII-GSST application deadline, they may be considered for one of eight (8) OGS awards that the MTCU has allowed Western to provide to International Students
  • Also, an OGS applicant:
  • Must not have exceeded the lifetime maximum of two (2) OGS/QEIIGSST awards held at the Master’s level, has not exceeded the maximum of four (4) OGS/QEIIGSST awards held at the doctoral level, and has not exceeded the lifetime maximum of six (6) OGS/QEIIGSST awards held
  • Must not have exceeded the lifetime maximum of six (6) years of government-funded student award support from the following programs/agencies:
  • Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS)
  • Ontario Trillium Scholarships (OTS)
  • Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship in Science and Technology (QEIIGSST)
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC

Special Restrictions:
No Special Restriction applicable
Exams Details:

Exam name Indicates if exam is required and cutoff (if any)
12: Required
UG: Required (minimum score 800%)

iSchoolConnect Rating

The rating is done considering various factors

Frequently Asked Questions

The frequently asked questions about the scholarship are:

Who can apply for the Scholarship?
The scholarship is applicable to students from various countries.

What is the minimum Qualification Required?
The students must have completed their undergraduate education from a recognized institution.

What is the procedure for applying?
This scholarship needs a separate external application.

What are the documents required for filling the forms?
Official transcripts and LOR

What is the duration of the Scholarship?
One Time